Karen Rossiter

  • 460_IMG_7558

Listing Category: Doula

  • As a Birth Doula, I would propose to meet you and your partner to discuss your birth preferences and the role of the Doula. Be on call 24 hours a day a week before your due date until your baby arrives. Be with you at your choice of hospital, birthing centre or home once you are in labour and stay with you until the safe arrival of your baby, to comfort and support both you and your partner. Visit you a few days after your birth to see how you and your new family are settling down.

    As a Postnatal Doula, I provide care for you and your baby in your home, helping with light housework and any jobs to help you can relax, rest and bond with your baby, enjoying the early days of motherhood.

    Much of my postnatal work is with twins.

    About me

    I live in Oxford with my husband (married in 1982). I have 3 sons (born 1983, 1985, 1989) James is a Professional Racing Driver currently racing Super GT in Japan for TOM’S Toyota, living in Monaco/Japan. Marc is a Professional Wakeboarder currently living in Orlando, Florida and Sam is a USN Physique Athlete, Personal Trainer, Sports Massage Therapist living in the Dominican Republic. I am an outgoing positive person who enjoys the gym, snow and water skiing, dancing and having a good time. Above all, I am very proud of my sons achievements.
    I have also done some film extra work – James Bond and Bridget Jones being two of the highlights.

  • Trained as Birth and Postnatal Doula with Nurturing Birth, March 2009
    Health Care Assistant at the John Radcliffe Hospital for three and a half years in the Private Patients Unit
    Experience attending Water Births
    I support the local Positive Birth Movement and Home Birth meetings each month.
    During my time at the John Radcliffe I trained in 'caring for the Older person'
    Cordon Blue Diploma - including working for the Directors of the House of Fraser Group (which includes Harrods) whist making Wedding Cakes and catering for private functions.